RMV Inspections

What is the Massachusetts Vehicle Check?

Massachusetts introduced its "next generation" vehicle emissions testing and safety inspection program on, October 1, 2008. Safety inspections will be done on all vehicles regardless of age or energy source (electric, gas, diesel or other alternative sources).  If your vehicle is legally registered in another state and requires us to examine your vehicle we will not check your window tint or condition of license plate as that is regulated individually by state.

Emission testing (On Board Diagnostic) will be done on all vehicles for the first 15 years from current model year.

Motorists will be able to choose which inspection station they use as long as the station is licensed. The cost of the test is among the lowest in the nation for this type of program. As of July 1, 2014, the Mass Vehicle Check will cost $35 annually.

What do they inspect on my passenger vehicle?

  • VIN Number/Registration/License Plates
  • Windshield
  • Wipers/Windshield Washer
  • Headlights/Headlight Aim
  • Turn Signals/4-Way Flashers
  • Tail Lamps/Brake Lights/Backup Lights/Other Lighting Devices
  • Rear View Mirrors
  • Horn
  • Exhaust System
  • Tires
  • Body Panels/Fuel Tank
  • Frame/Unibody
  • Service Brake
  • Parking/Emergency Brake
  • Seat Belts/Air Bag Operation
  • Ball Joints/Steering/Suspension
  • Visible Smoke
  • Emissions Test/Emissions Components (if applicable)

How to Prepare for Your Visit

Bring in your Certificate of Registration, Keys and Payment at time of inspection.  We accept Cash and Checks only.

Did you know that 70% of all inspection failures are easily fixed?

  1. Seatbelts must be accessible prior to inspection
  2. Valid Certificate of Registration and rear license plate sticker
  3. Horn and Windshield Wipers – Operational
  4. Lights – Operational (brake, headlights, marker lights, cab lights)
  5. Emergency Brake – no forward roll under light acceleration
  6. Tires – Wear Bars cannot hit road
  7. Studded Snows -  Yes, but only from November 1st through April 30th
  8. Plate surrounds or covers – Regulations require that all letters, numbers, stickers, and symbols must be clearly visible on the number plate.
    A number plate frame that obstructs any part of the plate is illegal, and you could be fined for having an obstructed plate.
  9. License Plates – Attached Front and Rear plates at time of Inspection

RMV FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

Link to the complete FAQ here.

Does a dealer have to provide a sticker on my new vehicle before I drive away?

No, although many new car dealers provide this as a service, you are allowed 7 days to obtain an inspection sticker from the station of your choice.

Will a vehicle with a small crack in a tail light or missing reflector pass inspection?

No, the regulation clearly states that all lenses and reflectors must be intact, clean, unobstructed, and free from cracks. The use of adhesive tape to repair lenses is prohibited. If the lens has been repaired with an epoxy and is sealed from any water intrusion, it should pass.

My vehicle is legally registered in another state, and my inspection sticker has expired. Can I get a Massachusetts inspection sticker until I get home?

Generally, yes. Any Class A inspection station will inspect your vehicle for a $35 fee. Each state has its own reciprocity regulations. You should call your state authorities for more information.